Board of Directors

Independent non-executive directors

John Barton (68)

FCMA, CGMA, AMP (Harvard)

Independent non-executive chairman

Nominations committee chairman

Member of the remuneration committee

Appointed to the board: May 2013

Appointed chairman: August 2014

John worked for the Anglo American group and subsidiary company Mondi where he was CEO and deputy chairman until 2007. He is a past president of the Durban Chamber of Commerce and was previously co-chairman of the KZN Growth Coalition. John is currently Chairman of Bell Equipment Limited and is a non-executive director at Foskor.

Anthony Hewat (56)

MA (Oxon), CA(SA)

Independent non-executive director

Audit committee chairman

Appointed to the board: October 2006

Anthony co-founded the Metier private equity and sustainability investing group and has extensive private equity investing, management consulting and financial accounting experience with Brait, Capital Partners, Gemini Consulting and Deloitte.

Phumla Mnganga (48)

BA, BEd, MBL, Phd

Independent non-executive director

Remuneration committee chairman

Social and ethics committee chairman

Member of the nominations committee

Appointed to the board: May 2011

Phumla is the founder and managing director of Lehumo Women’s Investment Holdings, a women-owned investment holding company. Prior to this she spent most of her career working for the Tongaat Hulett Group and Deloitte. Phumla is chairperson of the boards of the Tolcon Group and Gold Circle, and is a director of Spar. She is chairperson of the Siyazisiza Trust, established to benefit rural women, and served as chairperson of the University of KwaZulu-Natal Council from 2011 to 2015.

Rodger Stewart (67)

BSc (Agric)

Independent non-executive director

Member of the risk, social, ethics and audit committees

Appointed to the board: May 2011

Rodger is a non-executive director of the Institute of Natural Resources. He is a previous chairman of the South African Cane Growers Association and of the South African Sugar Association. Rodger has been integrally involved in sugar cane operations and policy at a senior level for more than three decades.

Malcolm Rutherford (54)

BCom, BAcc, CA(SA)

Independent non-executive director

Risk committee chairman

Member of the audit committee

Appointed to the board: May 2008

Trained at Deloitte and UAL Merchant Bank, Malcolm spent his working career as chief financial officer of Dimension Data. He currently runs his own private equity fund specialising in agricultural and food investment.

Guy Clarke (60)

MSc (Eng), MBA, Adv Tax Cert

Group managing director

Member of the risk and social and ethics committees

Appointed to the board: April 2006

Prior to his appointment as group managing director, Guy was a senior executive at the Industrial Development Corporation (IDC). During his time at the IDC, he was extensively involved in project evaluation and implementation in the agricultural and food industries.

Gary Vaughan-Smith (52)

BSc, MPhil, F.I.A

Non-executive director

Member of the nominations committee

Appointed to the board: November 2012

Gary is chief investment officer of SilverStreet Capital, a London-based investment management business focussed on investments in the agricultural sector in Africa. He has previously worked at Gartmore Investment Limited and ABN AMRO, both based in London.

Tim Denton (54)

Non-executive director

Appointed to the board: November 2012

Tim is Head of Agricultural Research for Silverstreet Capital. He has extensive experience in the management of large commercial farms in Africa, including the development of green-field sites and outgrower schemes.

Richard Chance (59)

BA LLB, CSEP (Colombia)

Independent non-executive director

Member of remuneration, social and ethics and nominations committees

Appointed to the board: July 2015

Richard was a practising attorney before joining SA Breweries, where he served in a number of executive positions over many years. Richard has consulted to a number of leading companies and is founder and executive director of Altor Africa (Pty) Ltd, which is engaged primarily in animal and human nutrition in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Tim Crookes (39)

M.Agric Mgt

Non-executive director

Member of risk committee

Appointed to the board: July 2015

Tim has significant personal farming interests as well as serving as Managing Director of Ellingham Estate. Tim was previously manager of the Banana Growers Association of South Africa and is currently a member of several SA Cane Growers structures, as well as serving as a grower nominee on Illovo’s Sezela Mill management committee.

Greg Veale (51)

B Compt, B.Com (Hons), CA(SA)

Group financial director

Member of risk and social and ethics committees

Appointed to the board: April 2016

Greg ran his own accounting practice prior to joining Nashua as financial director. He subsequently served as group financial executive at Africa Procurement Services. Greg joined Crookes Brothers in August 2015.


Note: Xola Sithole and Christopher Chance resigned from the board subsequent to the date of the 2015 annual report.